Tags

, , , , ,

Today’s crafty post is gonna make you squeal with delight!  Not only is it super-luxurious, but it’s also DIY on a budget.  I was one of the lucky recipients, and I absolutely love this stuff.  A little coaxing, persuading and begging later, I convinced my sister to share this project with all of you lovely readers out in blogland 🙂

*         *         *         *           *            *             *               *              *

Hi, I’m Kim and I’ve been asked to be a guest blogger on my sister’s craft blog. What an honor! How exciting! She asked that I write about the lemon sugar body scrub that I made for her. So here it is!!!

Did you know that a lemon crossed with an orange is a Meyer lemon?  Well I didn’t until just recently.  I was very surprised…..then I said “duh”………that’s why my lemons on my Meyer lemon tree are so big……..big like oranges…….and smell so sweet……..and are so very juicy.  But what do I do with them?  There are so many!!!  I know….share with family, friends, neighbors and co-workers.  Done!  Now what?  How about lemon cake, lemon cheesecake ball, lemon bars, lemon juice for cocktails, lemon juice frozen for a later use, lemon rinds for amaretto, lemon wedges for drink garnishments, lemon slices for cleaning the kitchen sink disposal, lemons in a large glass bowl sitting in the middle of the table to look very nice!!!!!!!  Whew ……all done!!!!

Exhausted on what else to do with lemons, I turned to PINTEREST.  The abyss of ideas! I came across a recipe for homemade lemon sugar scrub.  What a great idea………….. that’s what I’m going to do! And I did! Turns out it was pretty good and well liked by the recipients.  I did tweak the recipe a bit to my liking, and you can as well.  So here it is:

Lemon Sugar Body Scrub

3 cups granulated white sugar (not fine)

1 cup extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon honey

Juice and zest of one lemon (preferably a Meyer lemon)

Mix all ingredients together until well combined. You may need to add more sugar or more oil. It just depends on what consistency you like. Spoon into a pretty little glass jar or crock. Use on hands, feet and body. Enjoy!

I’m partying over at these lovely blogs:  {stop by and check out other crafty ideas}

Craft & Tell